Saturday, December 7, 2019
The founder of Streetsville was born in New York in 1777 and emigrated to Upper Canada in 1801 after marrying Abigail Smith. They lived near Niagara for twenty years and in 1818-1819 Timothy financed the survey of Toronto Township and was compensated with 4500 acres of land that would become the town of Streetville. We decided to go and explore some of the legacy he left behind. We parked on Mill Street beside his historic home. The county atlas below shows how large Streetsville had become by 1877 when it was released.
Timothy founded a milling empire and in 1825 built the house that still stands at the end of Mill Street near his mills. He first built a grist mill around 1822 and soon added a lumber and saw mill. He continued to expand by adding a tannery, distillery and clothing mill. The brick house he constructed is considered to be the first brick house to be built in Peel County and remains the oldest one. It is a story and a half and has been added to at least twice partly to accommodate the 12 children he raised along with Abigail.
Timothy needed water to power his mills and so he built a dam across the Credit River just north of the mills. He found a narrow place where an earthen berm could be built to retain the mill pond. Originally the dam would have consisted of a wooden crib across the river that was filled with stones. This type of dam required constant repairs, some of which could be quite dangerous. Many millers lost their lives trying to save their mill dams from being washed away in the raging spring waters.
In 1824 Timothy Street deeded an acre of his land to the Presbyterian Church for the purposes of establishing a Protestant cemetery. Five of his own children would die in their youth and be buried in this cemetery.
Timothy Street died an January 31, 1848 and was buried in the cemetery where his children were interred.
From the pioneer cemetery the silos of the Barbertown mills can be seen. The milling community of Barbertown was located at the Credit River and Eglinton Avenue. It included what was the largest woolen mill in Ontario during the middle of the 1800’s.
The trails along the sides of the Credit River through Streetsville form part of the Culham Trail and will eventually be part of the Credit Valley Trail.
By 1890 the pioneer cemetery was reaching capacity and land for a new cemetery was donated to the town by Timothy Street’s daughter.
A new study has found that squirrels use the local birds to help them determine if it is safe to go outside their nests. Squirrels will listen to the tweets of birds in the area to help them understand if there could be red-tailed hawks near by. When the birds are chattering away in normal fashion the squirrels go about their usual business of gathering nuts. When the birds go silent the squirrels interpret this to mean danger and they take cover.
The first high school in Peel County was built in Streetsville in 1851. It was enlarged in 1877 when the two rooms in the front were added along with the Italianate tower. It served as the school for 115 years before being converted to the town hall in 1966. By 1974 it had been converted to be the local police station before its present tenant, the Kinsmen Senior Citizens Centre.
Streetsville is one of the truly unique places where the city has surrounded a small town but failed to absorb it. As a result Streetsville still has a lot of its small town charm and we have visited several times.
Further reading about Streetsville: Alpha Mills, Streetsville’s Forgotten Foundations, Hyde Mill, Barbertown
Google Maps Link: Mill Street Streetsville
Like us at http://www.facebook.com/hikingthegta
Follow us at http://www.hikingthegta.com
Also look for us on Instagram